The Girl from Vichy

I found ’The Girl from Vichy’ a compelling and powerful read. The novel is set during a turbulent time in history and Andie has captured the dangers and realities of life for French resistance fighters with memorable and gut-churning detail. This is edge of the seat stuff – you won’t be able to put it down’

Gill Thompson, USA TODAY bestselling author of The Child on Platform One

France, 1942.

As the war in Europe rages on, Adèle Ambeh dreams of a France that is free from the clutches of the new regime. The date of her marriage to a ruthless man is drawing closer, and she only has one choice – she must run.

With the help of her mother, Adèle flees to Lyon, seeking refuge at the Sisters of Notre Dame de la Compassion. From the outside this is a simple nunnery, but the sisters are secretly aiding the French Resistance, hiding and supplying the fighters with weapons.

While it is not quite the escape Adèle imagined, she is drawn to the nuns and quickly finds herself part of the resistance. But her new role means she must return to Vichy, and those she left behind, no matter the cost.

Each day is filled with a different danger and as she begins to fall for another man, Adèle’s entire world could come crashing down around her.

Adèle must fight for her family, her own destiny, as well as her country.

Perfect for fans of The Alice Network, The Nightingale and Fiona Valpy.

Buy your copy here: Amazon US / Amazon UK / Kobo / Apple / Google / Nook

What people are saying about Andie Newton:

‘A powerful debut!’ Gill Paul, author of The Secret Wife.

‘A captivating story with a twist of romance threaded throughout’ Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan.

‘A heart-clenching emotionally evocative debut!’ Terry Lynn Thomas, author of The Secret Wife.

‘A compelling tale of friendshipcourage and espionage in a frightening and uncertain world’ Charlotte Betts, author of The Dressmaker’s Secret.

The Girl I Left Behind made me cry and left me wanting more, which to me are signs of a truly wonderful book, one that will stay with me long after I’ve finished reading’ Lana Kortchik, author of The Story of Us.

Wonderful story where it has you on the edge of your seat but have the tissues with you!’ NetGalley Reviewer.

‘The author has a gift for creating a sense of place whether the setting was on a snowy mountain or the streets of Germany in the early 1940’s’ NetGalley Reviewer.